top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureelizabethmmorrow

What I will take away from this excellent review on HAPPINESS by Adam Oliver

Updated: Mar 29, 2021

Oliver, A., 2021. An Unhappy Pursuit of Happiness. LSE Public Policy Review, 1(3), p.3. DOI: http://doi.org/10.31389/lseppr.19



Adam draws on philosophy and sociology as well as other perspectives to explore how people and policymakers can work with happiness as a measure of societal wellbeing.


The points I am taking from the review are:


1. People hold multiple and different desires. This influences their understanding of what it means to lead a flourishing life. This ‘multifariousness’ is a good thing because diversity is a source of strength. (Also, according to Stuart Mills diversity is a component of a happy life, along with versatility and fullness of life – we enjoy diversity).


2. Social engineering happiness (telling people how to live their lives) is not going to work because we all want different things. So policy makers should just stick to getting the general building blocks in place – food, education, safety, and other agreed fundamentals. However, both private and public spheres need ways to interact (this is where inclusion comes in), and to individually reflect and respond to the other (reflective tools and communication).


3. Pursing my ‘desired’ life (turning pain into utility to bring pleasure) may not bring me happiness. I need to ask – what will make it easier for me to be happy more?


4. The ‘pursuit’ of happiness (aka living) does not have to be unhappy – although we should be sensitive to selfishness and be pro-social for all our sakes. A useful strategy for the pursuit of happiness involves ‘local experimentation’ of what good means for me e.g., a break from the norm (diversity), changing something about myself (versatility), trying something new (fullness of life) – but also appreciating when I am contributing (utilitarianism) and - I would add when I am doing something well (expertise).


5. Then, if I manage to reach an understanding of what makes me happy in the nanosecond of life I have on this planet, I have the choice to take action to put in place/try to tell the powers that be, the things that will make it easier for me to be happy more often. Though investing in this action might make me unhappy.

6. Making generalisations and basing policy on happiness is complex because it is infinite, inconstant, and inconsistent. However, there are benefits of trying, including social cohesion and compassion for fellow human beings doing the same thing.


If you are interested in these issues please read Adam's review at the link above.



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page